Blog Tour Book Review: The Cafe by the Sea by Jenny Colgan

About The Café by the Sea

• Paperback: 416 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (June 27, 2017)

The beloved author of The Bookshop on the Corner returns with a sparkling, sunny, soulful new novel perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand.

Years ago, Flora fled the quiet Scottish island where she grew up — and she hasn’t looked back. What would she have done on Mure? It’s a place where everyone has known her all her life, where no one will let her forget the past. In bright, bustling London, she can be anonymous, ambitious… and hopelessly in love with her boss.

But when fate brings Flora back to the island, she’s suddenly swept once more into life with her brothers — all strapping, loud, and seemingly incapable of basic housework — and her father. Yet even amid the chaos of their reunion, Flora discovers a passion for cooking — and find herself restoring dusty little pink-fronted shop on the harbour: a café by the sea.

But with the seasons changing, Flora must come to terms with past mistakes — and work out exactly where her future lies…

Funny and heartfelt, The Café by the Sea is a delightful summertime novel that puts a modern twist on the classic Seven Brides for Seven Brothers story.

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

images

Happy 4th everyone!

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Cafe by the Sea by Jenny Colgan. I received an ARC of this book for free from the publisher through TLC Book Tours in exchange for my honest review of it.

The Cafe by the Sea is a lighthearted contemporary story about Flora, a paralegal from the small (fictitious) isle of Mure who is currently living and working in London. Due to an (unwanted) opportunity at work, Flora is going home…a place she had gladly left behind years ago.

The Cafe by the Sea is my second Jenny Colgan book. I read The Bookshop on the Corner last year and I remember absolutely loving it so when I had the opportunity to experience another of Jenny Colgan’s works, I jumped at the chance. Just like I thought I would, I really enjoyed this book as well.

In the same vein as The Bookshop on the CornerThe Cafe by the Sea is a contemporary novel with themes of self discovery, romance, healing and humor. Flora, herself, is such a likable main character who has not really been dealing with the death of her mother. My heart ached for her as she confronted memories of her mother and dealt with her brothers and father who also had yet to heal.

I love a good homecoming story like this where the main character basically runs away and when they come back, they realize how much of themselves they left at home. Beautiful.

I think Jenny Colgan is a wonderful storyteller. Her writing and stories are simple, funny, romantic and just…warm. I definitely think that her stories are like comfort food to me. I love to curl up with them in bed with mug of green tea and just pass the day in these beautiful stories of hers. If you are looking for a nice beach read, this one may be it or even if it’s raining and you have a nice Sunday in, definitely pick this book up. It’s a rather light read because of the writing and the fact that you won’t want to put it down once you’re drawn in, I read it in one sitting. 5 stars because I loved this book and it made me laugh out loud, made my heart hurt and gave me the warm fuzzies that a good romance plot line can. ❤

 

 

images

About Jenny Colgan

Jenny Colgan is the New York Times-bestselling author of numerous novels, including The Bookshop on the Corner, Little Beach Street Bakery, and Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery, all international bestsellers. Jenny is married with three children and lives in London and Scotland.

Find out more about Jenny at her website, and connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

Blog Tour Book Review: The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan

the-bookshop-on-the-corner-coverAbout The Bookshop on the Corner

• Paperback: 368 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (September 20, 2016)

“Losing myself in Jenny Colgan’s beautiful pages is the most delicious, comforting, satisfying treat I have had in ages.”—Jane Green, New York Times bestselling author of Summer Secrets

Nina Redmond is a literary matchmaker. Pairing a reader with that perfect book is her passion… and also her job. Or at least it was. Until yesterday, she was a librarian in the hectic city. But now the job she loved is no more.

Determined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy village many miles away. There she buys a van and transforms it into a bookmobile—a mobile bookshop that she drives from neighborhood to neighborhood, changing one life after another with the power of storytelling.

From helping her grumpy landlord deliver a lamb, to sharing picnics with a charming train conductor who serenades her with poetry, Nina discovers there’s plenty of adventure, magic, and soul in a place that’s beginning to feel like home… a place where she just might be able to write her own happy ending.

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

images

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had wonderful weekend! As for me, I spent the weekend in the company of a good book!  I received this book for review from HarperCollins and TLC Book Tours.

The Bookshop on the Corner is a contemporary fiction book about a librarian who gets laid off from her small library. In a rare flash of bravery and at the shock of her friends, she buys a van and moves to Scotland to open a mobile bookshop. Unsure of how and where she is going to live when she gets there, she is in for quite a ride.

My Sunday was literally spent with my nose in this book. I finished it in one sitting, I just couldn’t bear to put it down. I’m getting ready to enter my last semester of library school and I probably should have known that I would connect with this character so much by her choice of profession but it’s really ridiculous how much I loved our main character.

I pretty much loved almost everything about this book. At first I wasn’t used to the writing but as I got used to it, it just pulled me in and quite literally never let me go. The plot itself was simple and not overdone or cheesy which I think would have been easy to do here but it was perfectly done.

I loved Scotland as the setting and now I seriously want to go there. This book gave me a bunch of feels with the romance story lines in this book. I loved that there was a really good balance between the elements of this story. There was romance, self discovery, humor and even some thrilling bits. Sometimes I catch myself thinking ahead as I am reading but I was NEVER bored or trying to guess what was going to happen next, I just went with it because I was so lost in this story. I just have to say that it had everything I love in a romance, kind of the Darcy  and Elizabeth feel.

I’m giving a well deserved five stars to this book as I loved it so much. It’s one of my favorites this year and I’m going to treasure having it on my shelf and will probably reread it at some point in the future. It was charming, warm and gave me the fuzzies! I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a good contemporary fiction read with a bit of romance to read this fall. It’s a perfect fall read to curl up with!

 

images

jenny-colgan-apAbout Jenny Colgan

Jenny Colgan is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous novels, including Little Beach Street Bakery, Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop, and Christmas at the Cupcake Café, all international bestsellers. Jenny is married with three children and lives in London and Scotland.

Find out more about Jenny at her website, and connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

tlc logo