Blog Tour Book Review: The Odds of You and Me by Cecilia Galante

About The Odds of You and Me

• Paperback: 384 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (January 31, 2017)

In the vein of Meg Donohue and Sarah Jio, Cecilia Galante’s second novel delivers the powerful story of one young woman who’s faced with an impossible choice—one that could have her making the biggest mistake of her life.

Thirteen days. That’s all Bernadette, “Bird,” Sincavage has left to go until she’s done with her probation and can be free again. Free from making payments to the supermarket she wrote bad checks to. Free from living at home with her overzealous mother who’s constantly nagging her about attending church again. Free to give her four-year-old son, Angus, the normal life he deserves. Her impending freedom and move to Moon Lake, where she’s plunked down a deposit on a brand new apartment, is so close she can almost taste it. What trouble could she possibly get into in just thirteen days?

But trouble does follow in the form of James Rittenhouse—someone she worked with a few years ago. At first, Bird is stunned to see James make the evening news when he’s arrested for assaulting someone in a local bar. But that’s nothing compared to the shock she gets when she discovers James hiding out in an abandoned church choir loft. Somehow he escaped police custody, broke his leg, and got his hand on a gun, which he’s now pointing at her.

Although Bird doesn’t tell anyone she saw James, there’s no way she’s helping him. She can’t screw up her probation or her second chance for a new future. And she has her son’s welfare to think about. Still. If only she could stop thinking about the terrified look in James’ eyes and the fact that he’s hurt. If only she could forget that once, long ago, James helped her out, and she owes him a debt like no other.

Will Bird jeopardize her future for someone who helped her out in the past? A past that holds secrets she’s not quite sure she’s ready to face? Or will she turn a blind eye and learn to live with the consequences?

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Happy Tuesday!! Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Odds of You and Me by Cecilia Galante. I would like to send a big thank you to TLC Book Tours, the author and the publisher Harper Collins for giving me the opportunity read this book in exchange for an honest review of it.

The Odds of You and Me follows the story of Bird who after getting caught and punished for writing bad checks, finally has a shot at creating a better, independent life for her and her five year old son. When Bird runs in to an old friend who is currently on the wrong side of the law and needs her help, she faces the decision on whether or not to let him into her life, an unknown variable thrown in her way just when all the other pieces have started to fall into place.

When I received this ARC in the mail, I had already forgotten what this book was about so I basically went into this story not knowing what to expect or prepared at all for what I found in it’s pages. Immediately upon starting to read it, I was drawn to the story and to the characters, specifically Bird. I enjoyed her development throughout the story so much and it was just interesting to see how her thought process worked as she struggled with the big decisions she needed to make and with her feelings as a person, daughter and mother wove together. Her motivations and her struggles were very real to me. I loved her as a real person who makes makes real mistakes and as a mother who has this beautiful love for her son.

I think what drew me completely into this book and held me there for the duration, was the fantastic writing. This is my first Cecilia Galante book and I definitely want to read more from her. I was drawn into the story from start to finish, I couldn’t put it down. Four stars and a recommend! 

About Cecilia Galante

Cecilia Galante, who received an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from Goddard College, Vermont, is the author of eightyoung adult novels and a children’s chapter-book series. She has been the recipient of many awards, including an NAIBA Best Book of the Year, and an Oprah’s Teen Read Selection for her first novel, The Patron Saint of Butterflies. She lives in Kingston, Pennsylvania with her three children.

Find out more about Cecilia at her website, and connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

One thought on “Blog Tour Book Review: The Odds of You and Me by Cecilia Galante

Leave a comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s