Blog Tour Book Review: The Perfect Girl by Gilly MacMillan

The Perfect Girl coverAbout The Perfect Girl

• Paperback: 464 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (September 6, 2016)

From Gilly Macmillan, the international bestselling and Edgar Award nominated author of What She Knew, comes this whip-smart, addictive, and harrowing novel of psychological suspense—perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Kimberly McCreight.

“With tightly drawn characters, a fascinating storyline and absolutely exquisite narration, The Perfect Girl is sure to keep readers up all night. Gilly Macmillan proves once again to be a master of the written word and is quickly becoming one of my go-to authors. Literary suspense at its finest.”—Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Baby

Zoe Maisey is a seventeen-year-old musical prodigy with a genius IQ. Three years ago, she was involved in a tragic incident that left three classmates dead. She served her time, and now her mother, Maria, is resolved to keep that devastating fact tucked far away from their new beginning, hiding the past even from her new husband and demanding Zoe do the same.

Tonight Zoe is giving a recital that Maria has been planning for months. It needs to be the performance of her life. But instead, by the end of the evening, Maria is dead.

In the aftermath, everyone—police, family, Zoe’s former solicitor, and Zoe herself—tries to piece together what happened. But as Zoe knows all too well, the truth is rarely straightforward, and the closer we are to someone, the less we may see.

Unfolding over a span of twenty-four hours through three compelling narratives, The Perfect Girl is gripping, surprising, and emotionally complex—a richly layered look at loyalty, second chances, and the way secrets unravel us all.

Praise

“As the suspenseful, serpentine tale unreels from the alternating perspectives of several key players, readers will be rooting for the resilient, resourceful Zoe all the way to the perfectly executed final twists.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A wonderfully addictive book with virtuoso plotting and characters – for anyone who loved Girl on the Train, it’s a must read.” — Rosamund Lupton

“I DEVOURED The Perfect Girl. An incredible page turner with awesome characters and suspense. Bravo.” — Kate White, New York Times bestselling author

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

images

Good afternoon and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Perfect Girl by Gilly MacMillan. I received this book for review from HarperCollins and TLC Book Tours, I’d like to say thank you to them for giving me that opportunity!

The Perfect Girl is a thriller about a young music prodigy named Zoe who is in a tragic accident. She is ultimately convicted of killing the others involved and is called to serve a nine month sentence. When she is released she returns to the world of music but is confronted by the very past she is trying to shed and her comeback performance becomes one she had not anticipated.

When I saw that the blurb on the cover of the book recommended it to fans of The Girl on the Train, I became excited to read this! I am all for a really good thrilling read, especially in the weeks leading up to October so I was all in for this book. Since I went into it with that frame of mind, I ended up really liking this read. It gripped my attention right away and had me turning the pages so that I ended up reading it in one night while everyone else was asleep.

I really liked the plot and the pacing of the story. It was well deserving of the thriller title. I don’t know that I’d necessarily compare it to The Girl on the Train but I can see how both fit into the same genre. To me, it wasn’t a predictable read. It did keep me in suspense for awhile. I had alot of feelings while reading it including grief because of the tragedies that occur. There are some darker subjects explored in this book which I think fits well with the genre. It’s a thicker book than I normally read but it definitely didn’t feel that way since it was very gripping which caused me to read it pretty fast. It includes a great whodunit and those ALWAYS keep me reading. Overall, this was a very gripping read that is a perfect one to curl up with on a late fall night. 4 stars!

images

Gill Macmillan APAbout Gilly Macmillan

Gilly Macmillan is the Edgar Nominated and New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew. She grew up in Swindon, Wiltshire and lived in Northern California in her late teens. She worked at The Burlington Magazine and the Hayward Gallery before starting a family. Since then she’s worked as a part-time lecturer in photography, and now writes full-time. She resides in Bristol, England.

Find out more about Gilly at her website, and connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

tlc logo

One thought on “Blog Tour Book Review: The Perfect Girl by Gilly MacMillan

Leave a comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s