Blog Tour Book Review: Uncovering Cobbogoth (Cobbogoth #1) by Hannah L. Clark

Uncovering-Cobbogoth-tour bannerUncovering Cobbogoth 2x3 WEB

Title: Uncovering Cobbogoth (Cobbogoth #1) written by Hannah L. Clark
Genre: YA Fantasy/Mystery
Publisher: Cedar Fort Publishing and Media
Page count: 320 pages
Format: Review Copy PDF
Rating: 5/5 – Loved it!
Release Date: 05/13/14

 

Norah Lukens needs to uncover the truth about the fabled lost city of Cobbogoth. After her archaeologist uncle’s murder, Norah is asked to translate his old research journal for evidence and discovers that his murder was a cover-up for something far more sinister.

When she turns to neighbor and only friend James Riley for help, she realizes that not only is their bitter-sweet past haunting her every step, but James is keeping dangerous secrets. Can Norah discover what they are before its too late to share her own. (Goodreads)

 

Hello!! Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Uncovering Cobbogoth (Cobbogoth #1)! I want to take a moment to thank the author Hannah L. Clark and also YA Bound Book Tours for allowing me to read and review this wonderful book in exchange for an honest review!

I will admit that one of the first things that attracted me to this book besides the summary was the gorgeous cover. I love the different shades of purple and the spirals that decorate the cover (which if you read the book you will find out how they figure into the story!). It’s definitely a unique and memorable cover that jumps out at you. I fell in love with it.

Aside from that, the summary is fantastic as well and once I skimmed it I knew I just had to read this book. There is something about fables, murder and romance which when mixed all together, really do it for me! All of these things (and much more) definitely worked beautifully in this story. I loved, loved, loved this book. I have always had an intense fascination with any sort of early literatures specifically from Ireland, Scotland, etc. and this story revolves around Icelandic fables that are unearthed by our protagonist’s uncle which in themselves were interesting to read about in the book.  It was a hundred times more interesting to see how the author built this fantastic story using the uncle’s favorite fables as a vehicle.

Right off the bat I was interested in the tense romantic feelings between James and Nor, both characters that I extremely like. I love Nor…I love that she’s a different sort of YA heroine (this was super refreshing!)…she’s amazingly smart and talented, strong and still manages to be just a normal seventeen year old (soon eighteen year old) girl worried about looking dumb in front of the guy she likes.

There are so many things I like about this book, I think the story is just really well written and interesting and original all around. It definitely kept me interested from the first page and kept me guessing, there are a few twists to the plot that I did not see coming at all which is great…I really can’t wait to read the next book. I literally read this book in a day because I couldn’t put it down. 5 out of 5 rating for this great book!  Fans of YA Fantasy or YA Mystery novels will not want to miss this book! It’s fast, entertaining, with a dash of romance and mystery. Be looking out for this book as it released on 5/13!!

You can purchase it at one of these links below!!

http://www.amazon.com/Uncovering-Cobbogoth-Hannah-L-Clark/dp/1462114261/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1399104686&sr=8-1&keywords=Uncovering+Cobbogoth

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/uncovering-cobbogoth-hannah-l-clark/1118395463?ean=9781462114269

hannah clarkAbout the Author

Hannah L. Clark is the author of the YA fantasy-adventure “Uncovering Cobbogoth.” It is the first book in a planned 7 book series. It will be released by Cedar Fort Publishing on May 13, 2014.

Hannah lives in Pleasant Grove, UT with her husband and son.

Author Links:

http://www.hannahlclark.com/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5139659.Hannah_L_Clark

http://www.twitter.com/hannieclark

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cobbogoth/201603626565950

***Giveaway***

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/2348b9253/

YA Bounk Tour Button

 

Leave a comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s